The Health Branch is divided into three directorates: Health Insurance Studies, Food and Drugs, and Indian Health Services. In the Health Branch are 14 Divisions active in a number of public health fields. Administratively they fall into three groups: advisory medical, environmental sanitation and research development. The Welfare Branch is made up of the Divisions of Family Allowances, Old Age Security, Old Age Assistance and Physical Fitness. The Department is also responsible for federal civil defence planning, with the Civil Defence Co-ordinator reporting to both Deputy Ministers. The Administration Branch includes divisions where activities cover both health and welfare fields such as research, information, legal and library services as well as administrative personnel and purchasing and supply services.

National Museum of Canada.—The National Museum illustrates the natural history of Canada — its geology, biology and anthropology. It was formerly part of the Geological Survey which was founded in 1842 but was separated in 1920, and is now part of the Department of Resources and Development. The Museum carries out field investigations in botany, zoology, vertebrate paleontology, archeology and ethnology including studies of folk-lore and folk-songs, publishes the results of its research and carries out an extensive educational program.

The Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, customs and inland revenue Acts were administered by separate departments; after that date they were amalgamated under one Minister as the Departments of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921, the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924, collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of National Revenue and under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

Besides the assessment and collection of customs and excise duty, taxes and revenues and other services by ports and outports, the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes and succession duties.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Income Tax Appeal Board and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

Post Office Department.—Operations of the Post Office Department under a Postmaster General include: air, land, steamboat and railway mail services; international and domestic mail; postage stamps, money orders and parcel post business. The Department is responsible for the Post Office Savings Bank.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and is responsible to the Secretary of State. Its purpose is to assemble and make available to the public a comprehensive collection of historical source material relating to the history of Canada. Major emphasis is placed upon official records of the Government, and the personal papers of political leaders and other prominent figures. These are supplemented by copies of many records in the British and French archives that relate to Canada, a fine map collection, a historical library, and many prints, paintings and photographs.

Department of Public Printing and Stationery.—This Department was established in 1886 and is in the charge of the Queen's Printer and Controller of Stationery.

The Department is responsible for supplying all requirements of printing and stationery to and the audit of all accounts for advertising of Parliament and Departments of the Canadian Government; the free distribution and sale of all public documents or papers to the public; the publication of the *Statules of Canada*, the *Canada Gazette*, and all departmental reports, papers, etc., required to be published by authority of the Governor General in Council.

The Department of Public Printing and Stationery is under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of State.

Department of Public Works.—This Department was constituted in 1867 and is responsible for the management, charge and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging. The Department maintains architectural and engineering staffs in each province in addition to the Administrative, Architectural, Engineering and Purchasing and Stores Branches at Ottawa.

The Minister of Public Works is responsible to Parliament for the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and for federal interests in the Trans-Canada Highway.

Department of Resources and Development.—The Department of Resources and Development was established in January 1950, and comprises sections of the former Departments of Mines and Resources and Reconstruction and Supply. The Department is divided into five branches besides Administration Services: the National Parks Branch administers the National Parks of Canada, historic sites and federal interests in the conservation and protection of wildlife and has charge of the National Museum of Canada; the Engineering